About the Diversity Committee

The Diversity Committee serves as a collective group of leaders representing all facets of Wilson County to discuss and address issues relating to diversity as a whole.  The group was formed and convened in February 2015 to begin planning the 2015 Wilson Forward Annual Meeting that centered around the discussion for diversity.  The speaker, Dr. James Johnson of the Kenan Flagler Business School at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, presented Disruptive Demographics and the Future Competitiveness of Wilson County, NC.

The Diversity Committee makes recommendations on creating a welcoming climate for diverse cultures and backgrounds within education, businesses, and organizations.

Committee Members

Maurice Barnes
Student Intervention Specialist
Wilson County Schools

Barbara Blackston 
Executive Director
Wilson County Improvement Association

Derrick Creech 
Wilson City Council

Eric Davis 
Chief Operating Officer
Wilson County Schools

Alice Freeman
Retired Wilson Assistant City Manager

Ken Jones
Wilson 20/20 Board Member

Lane Mills 
Wilson County Schools

William Myers
Retired Educator

Douglas Searcy 
Barton College

Willie Williams 
Retired Chief of Police